Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / News / Low replacing Rosenburgh on planning commission

Low replacing Rosenburgh on planning commission

Mayor appoints principle of ‘new urbanist’ firm

(Updated at 4:35 p.m. June 28, 2012)

Architect Tom Low, director of “new urbanist” firm Duany Plater-Zyberk & Co.’s Charlotte office, is the newest member of the city’s planning commission.

His term begins Sunday.

Cheryl Neely, executive services coordinator for the city’s planning department, said Foxx made the appointment this month.

Word about Foxx’s appointment spread through the real estate community, and some industry officials were talking about it this week. Foxx’s administration never issued a press release about the appointment, but a city spokesman said that’s not unusual.

“We don’t put out press releases for the mayor’s appointments,” Al Killeffer said.

The City Council did not have to take a confirmation vote on Low because the seat is a mayoral appointment.

Members of the commission serve three-year terms. The commission is composed of 14 members: two appointed by the mayor, four by the City Council, six by county commissioners and two by the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education.

Neely said that since this is Low’s first time serving on the commission, he will be appointed to the planning committee for a year and then serve on the zoning committee.

According to Miami-based DPZ’s website, Low has a bachelor’s degree in architecture from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, also known as Virginia Tech. He has a master’s degree in architecture, with a specialization in suburb and town design, from the University of Miami.

According to DPZ’s website, as a student Low completed research grants on early 20th century town centers and the “Traditional Neighborhood Development Ordinance,” which DPZ says is one of its trademarks “and a crucial element in the firm’s principles.”

In 1995, Low, a DPZ principal, opened the firm’s Charlotte office, where he’s director of town planning, according to DPZ’s website.

BAUGHMAN can be reached at [email protected].


The commission is composed of 14 members:

•  two appointed by the mayor

•  four by the City Council

•  six by county commissioners

•  two by the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education

Source: Mecklenburg Times staff research



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *